Jeremy Hynes Award
  • Lu Forsberg

    Jeremy Hynes Recipient 2017

  • Liam O'Brien

    Jeremy Hynes Recipient 2015

  • Chris Howlett

    Jeremy Hynes Recipient 2013

  • Alex Cuffe

    Jeremy Hynes Recipient 2011

  • Aaron Burton

    Jeremy Hynes Recipient 2009


Jeremy Hynes Award

Since 2009, the IMA has had the honour of presenting the $10,000 award to a risk-taking Queensland artist in the early stages of their career, made possible through a bequest made by the family of Jeremy Hynes in his name.

Hynes was a key figure in the Brisbane art scene in the 1990s known for his daredevil performance art—lighting fires, smashing mirrors, and confining his audience to taxis. His experimental and courageous performances were a common highlight at the IMA and the artist run space ISNT. Hynes’ exhibition ‘Macro-Surveillance’ was presented at the IMA in 2000.

This sixth Jeremy Hynes Award recipient Tay Haggarty was selected by judges Justene Williams, Tony Albert, and IMA Director Liz Nowell. Haggarty will be awarded $10,000 and will receive mentorship to produce a solo exhibition at the IMA for mid 2020.

We acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the lands where the IMA now stands. We pay our respect to Elders past, present, and emerging.